Gasly grabs second consecutive pole position

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Pierre Gasly has secured his third pole position of the season after beating GP2 Champion Stoffel Vandoorne by less than one tenth of a second.

The Racing Engineering drivers of Alexander Rossi and Jordan King were the first to set lap times and it was the Briton who came out on top early on.

The man to beat from Practice earlier on Pierre Gasly showed his worth straight away with a 1:48.014 lap time which put him straight to the top of the time sheets.

The newly crowned Champion Stoffel Vandoorne made an uncharacteristic mistake into the first corner when a lockup sent him wide. His lap time way five seconds off the pace as a result but he soon improved to sit P2 behind the DAMS of Gasly.

The mid-session lull on track was broken by Artem Markelov who was looking to improve on his 12th place. The Russian was able to find a little extra lap time and ultimately finished the session tenth.

The dying minutes saw Alex Lynn jump from P10 to P2 until he was bumped down by Vandoorne who got to within 0.1 seconds of provisional pole sitter Gasly. At the fall of the chequered flag nobody had managed to beat Gasly and he took his third pole position of the season, albeit putting all four wheels off the circuit at the penultimate corner.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 P. Gasly DAMS 1:47.769
2 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 0.097
3 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 0.245
4 A. Lynn DAMS 0.280
5 R. Marciello Trident 0.650
6 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 0.660
7 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 0.829
8 J. King Racing Engineering 0.863
9 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 0.930
10 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 0.974
11 A. Negrão Arden International 1.053
12 S. Sirotkin Rapax 1.212
13 N. Nato Arden International 1.336
14 A. Pic Campos Racing 1.341
15 S. Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 1.377
16 D. Stoneman Carlin 1.397
17 N. Latifi MP Motorsport 1.581
18 O. Rowland Status Grand Prix 1.605
19 R. Binder MP Motorsport 1.892
20 D. De Jong Trident 1.958
21 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 2.010
22 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 2.070
23 G. Malja Rapax 2.774
24 S. Gelael Carlin 3.835

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s