Lynn edges Vandoorne for Sochi pole

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Alex Lynn beat Stoffel Vandoorne by the smallest of margins to take pole position for the Sochi Feature Race.

Qualifying got underway with the track wet around the first and final sector but the middle sector was almost bone dry. As a precaution, drivers all hit the circuit on the wet tyres.

Dean Stoneman’s first Qualifying session in GP2 didn’t start ideally as he damaged his front wing when he clipped a rival pulling into the pit lane.

Alexander Rossi was the first driver to set a flying lap with a time of 2:06.053.

The times began to tumble with each passing moment and numerous drivers had a small stint at the top of the timing screens, including Jordan King, Arthur Pic and André Negrão.

Rene Binder was the only driver to be caught out by the conditions and spun his MP Motorsport car coming out of the final corner on a lap that would have improved his position.

Sean Gelael was the only driver to brave the conditions on slick tyres. The Carlin driver soon realised his mistake and very tentatively returned to the pits. He would go on to qualify last on the grid.

The track was drying with every passing moment and it would be a case of whoever crossed the line last would be most likely to bag a front row start.

Vandoorne missed his final attempt for pole position after backing off from the traffic ahead too much and crossing the line just one second after the checquered flag fell. The Belgian could only manage P2 on the grid for tomorrow’s race.

Pole position instead went to Alex Lynn who’s lap time of 2:01.840 secured a second consecutive front of the grid start for DAMS.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 A. Lynn DAMS 2:01.840
2 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 0.038
3 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 0.301
4 P. Gasly DAMS 0.545
5 A. Pic Campos Racing 0.610
6 J. Cecotto Trident 0.850
7 R. Marciello Trident 0.869
8 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1.158
9 N. Nato Arden International 1.293
10 S. Sirotkin Rapax 1.383
11 A. Negrão Arden International 1.542
12 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1.679
13 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 1.683
14 J. King Racing Engineering 1.782
15 N. Latifi MP Motorsport 1.891
16 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1.911
17 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 2.164
18 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 2.232
19 D. Stoneman Carlin 2.253
20 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 2.818
21 R. Binder MP Motorsport 3.154
22 S. Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 3.158
23 R. Visoiu Rapax 3.944
24 S. Gelael Carlin 6.521

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s