Dean Stoneman graduates to GP2

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Dean Stoneman has graduated to the GP2 Series almost one year after becoming GP3 Series Vice Champion.

The British driver will join Carlin for this weekend’s event in Sochi after Julián Leal withdrew from racing in the Series.

“I’m excited; this will be a new challenge for me to get into a GP2 car,” Stoneman said.

“I’m not going to know what to expect really until I get out there and get a feel of the car.

“It’s going to be a great experience though and I’m going out to do a good job.

“It’s nice to go back to a track I have good memories of; last year in GP3 was a great weekend for me, winning from pole in the first race and then second in the second race so I’m looking forward to going there again.”

Stoneman – a Red Bull Junior Team driver – has been competing in Formula Renault 3.5 this season and currently lies third in the Drivers’ Championship.

Sean Gelael will partner Stoneman at Carlin.

What do you think? Let us know

