de Jong completing six week recovery

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Daniël de Jong is completing a six week long recovery after his horror crash at Spa-Francorchamps two weeks ago.

The Dutchman broke his sixth vertebrae in his back and underwent immediate surgery to repair the damage caused.

The crash was instigated by Pierre Gasly as the pair went into Blanchimont side-by-side in the Feature Race.

“The pain and the stiffness in my back are diminishing with every passing day,” de Jong told the GP2 Series Insider Magazine.

“I feel like my body is getting more and more energised.

“I can do almost everything but I have to be cautious: since I do not feel too much pain now, I sometimes forget that my bone is not completely healed.

“It needs six weeks to be completely fixed and it’s only been two weeks since Spa. I guess I have to learn how to be patient…”

The MP Motorsport driver went on to talk about his recovery.

“On Monday, I went to Formula Medicine to see Doctor Ceccarelli. He will help me recover and also to keep fit during this time.

“To be honest, I’m happy I get to exercise. I cannot stand to do nothing!”

Rene Binder took de Jong’s place at MP Motorsport last time out and is expected to keep the seat until the Dutchman is fully recovered.

What do you think? Let us know