Rossi beats Vandoorne in dramatic Feature Race

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Alexander Rossi has beaten Stoffel Vandoorne to the Feature Race victory at Monza.

Pole sitter Gasly got a stunning getaway at the start and his team mate Alex Lynn took second place from Stoffel Vandoorne before the first corner. Sergey Sirotkin demoted Vandoorne down to fourth at the beginning of the second lap.

Debutante Meindert van Buuren caused a short safety car period when he crashed heavily at the Ascari Chicane. The Dutch driver got out of the MP Motorsport car unharmed.

Vandoorne was the first driver to pit for fresh tyres and that would cause a reaction from the other race leaders. Gasly was the next to pit but a loose wheel nut on his DAMS made him tumble down the order and ultimately into a retirement from the race.

DAMS’ day got even worse when Alex Lynn’s optimistic lunge on Sergey Sirotkin at the first corner went awry. The pair collided, Lynn almost got tipped upside down and the two drivers were forced into retirements.

Vandoorne inherited the race lead when everyone had completed their mandatory pit stop. Racing Engineering’s Alexander Rossi began hounding the Belgian for first place and passed him into the first corner with six laps of the race remaining. This move would be the decisive one as Rossi held onto the lead and took victory after 30 laps.

The race for the final podium place involved four men. Mitch Evans was the driver to secure third place having started all the way down in 23rd.

Richie Stanaway came home in fourth to score his first points since victory in Monaco back in May while Artem Markelov rounded out the top five. Norman Nato dropped to sixth place having been given a five second time penalty; otherwise the Frenchman would have finished in third place.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 49:32.084
2 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1.275
3 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 15.094
4 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 17.784
5 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 18.198
6 N. Nato Arden International 18.382
7 A. Pic Campos Racing 18.842
8 J. King Racing Engineering 19.862
9 R. Visoiu Rapax 22.083
10 R. Binder MP Motorsport 22.556
11 S. Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 30.868
12 J. Leal Carlin 32.871
13 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 36.041
14 A. Negrão Arden International 36.166
15 R. Marciello Trident 37.170
16 S. Trummer Hilmer Motorsport 37.541
17 P. Niederhauser Daiko Team Lazarus 45.741
18 J. Cecotto Trident 46.250
19 J. Mardenborough Carlin 48.908
20 S. Sirotkin Rapax DNF
21 A. Lynn DAMS DNF
22 P. Gasly DAMS DNF
23 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix DNF
24 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix DNF
25 M. Van Buuren MP Motorsport DNF

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s