Gasly sets the pace in Monza Practice

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Pierre Gasly has set the early weekend pace at Monza, 0.3 seconds clear of Alexander Rossi in a relatively straightforward Practice session.

Rapax drivers Robert Visoiu and Sergey Sirotkin led everyone out onto the circuit and it was the Russian who delivered the early pace. Sirotkin sat at the top of the time sheets for a few minutes with his 1.32.5 lap time.

Stoffel Vandoorne proved he was human as he ran deep into the first corner and had to use the escape road to rejoin the circuit.

The Belgian Championship leader looked out of sorts early on but soon got into a rhythm and set pace good enough for P2, just behind Pierre Gasly who had just moved up into P1 moments earlier.

Yellow flags were caused by Patric Niederhauser and Simon Trummer who were forced to stop their cars at the end of the pit lane and at the Lesmos respectively.

Second place in the standings changed hands a couple of times before the end of the session with Rio Haryanto taking it from Vandoorne before Alexander Rossi took it for himself with minutes remaining.

Pierre Gasly’s lap time of 1:31.669 went unbeaten and it kept him P1 until the end of the session. Rossi, Haryanto, Vandoorne and Rene Binder completed the top five.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 P. Gasly DAMS 1:31.669
2 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 0.317
3 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 0.351
4 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 0.371
5 R. Binder MP Motorsport 0.424
6 S. Sirotkin Rapax 0.455
7 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 0.479
8 A. Lynn DAMS 0.550
9 A. Pic Campos Racing 0.571
10 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 0.643
11 N. Nato Arden International 0.667
12 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 0.793
13 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 0.815
14 R. Marciello Trident 0.823
15 A. Negrão Arden International 0.855
16 J. Leal Carlin 0.937
17 S. Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 0.939
18 R. Visoiu Rapax 1.099
19 J. King Racing Engineering 1.100
20 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1.388
21 J. Cecotto Trident 1.410
22 M. Van Buuren MP Motorsport 1.721
23 P. Niederhauser Daiko Team Lazarus 1.908
24 S. Trummer Hilmer Motorsport 2.079
25 J. Mardenborough Carlin 2.222

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s