Matsushita edges Vandoorne to take first GP2 win

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Nobuharu Matsushita has held off his team mate to secure his first ever victory in the GP2 Series.

The Japanese driver started from pole position and was battling Stoffel Vandoorne from the very first corner. Sergey Sirotkin jumped to third place ahead of Raffaele Marciello and Rio Haryanto.

Sergio Canamasas made a monster start just like he did in yesterday’s Feature Race. Today the Spaniard launched up to P10 from last on the grid. He paid the price for pushing early when his tyres dropped off the cliff with a handful of laps to go.

Tyres were a critical factor in the race and drivers were struggling – just like Canamasas – in the later stages of the race. Alexander Rossi, Mitch Evans and Marlon Stockinger all had to pit for new tyres in a race where tyres should last until the end.

The top five at the start of the race remained unchanged until the checquered flag fell after 28 laps of racing. Nobuharu Matsushita became only the second Japanese driver to win a GP2 race after Kamui Kobayashi who won in Spain 2008.

Vandoorne took his ninth podium of the season and extended his lead in the Drivers’ Championship once again.

Robert Visoiu scored points for the second race in a row with seventh place after getting ninth yesterday.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 43:43.229
2 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1.961
3 S. Sirotkin Rapax 2.560
4 R. Marciello Trident 16.243
5 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 17.821
6 N. Nato Arden International 18.899
7 R. Visoiu Rapax 19.605
8 P. Gasly DAMS 24.504
9 A. Lynn DAMS 29.572
10 A. Pic Campos Racing 30.380
11 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 39.819
12 J. King Racing Engineering 43.666
13 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 46.223
14 N. Latifi MP Motorsport 47.244
15 J. Leal Carlin 47.869
16 S. Canamasas Hilmer Motorsport 50.050
17 N. Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 51.211
18 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 60.570
19 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 64.855
20 S. Gelael Carlin 67.304
21 A. Negrão Arden International 70.407
22 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 78.968
23 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1 LAP
24 R. Binder Trident 1 LAP
25 D. De Jong MP Motorsport DNF

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s