Lynn untouchable in Budapest victory

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Alex Lynn has sealed an almost effortless race victory in Budapest to secure his first victory in a Feature Race just one day after bagging his first pole position.

The Briton began the race from his first pole position and maintained the place ahead of his fast starting team mate Pierre Gasly. Stoffel Vandoorne started on the option tyres and dropped to P5 from second place before the first corner.

Hilmer driver Sergio Canamasas was the biggest winner on the first lap having jumped from P19 to P11. The Spaniard’s hard work was undone on only the second lap when contact with Nicholas Latifi led to him ending his race in the barrier which brought out the safety car.

Richie Stanaway was eager to make up places but contact with Alexander Rossi at the first corner saw him tumble down the order with a damaged front wing. The Status driver didn’t recover and ended the race in 21st place.

Vandoorne pitted at the first opportunity at the end of lap six but gained a five second time penalty for an unsafe release which almost caused contact with Julián Leal. Despite this, the Belgian soon began to stretch his legs and eat into the advantage the leaders were building up at the front.

Alex Lynn pitted from the race lead on lap 24 and was immediately the quickest driver on the circuit. The DAMS driver made easy work of Arthur Pic and Alexander Rossi and set his sights on Rio Haryanto for second place. Despite a slight mistake at turn four he got past the Indonesian driver with six laps to go.

The race lead and race win was secured by Lynn with an impressive move on Vandoorne at the first corner. Pierre Gasly ensured a DAMS 1-2 with a last gasp attack.

Sergey Sirotkin took the third place on the podium with an optimistic move on Rio Haryanto at the penultimate corner which gave the Campos driver front wing damage.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 A. Lynn DAMS 1:00:10.078
2 P. Gasly DAMS 3.707
3 S. Sirotkin Rapax 9.052
4 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 9.639
5 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 11.621
6 J. King Racing Engineering 12.862
7 R. Marciello Trident 16.220
8 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 16.785
9 R. Visoiu Rapax 17.460
10 D. De Jong MP Motorsport 34.138
11 N. Nato Arden International 36.874
12 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 42.242
13 A. Pic Campos Racing 43.345
14 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 46.408
15 N. Latifi MP Motorsport 51.732
16 J. Leal Carlin 52.010
17 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 56.245
18 S. Gelael Carlin 57.251
19 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 66.136
20 A. Negrão Arden International 66.681
21 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1 LAP
22 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1 LAP
23 R. Binder Trident 4 LAPS
24 N. Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport DNF
25 S. Canamasas Hilmer Motorsport DNF

One response to “Lynn untouchable in Budapest victory

  1. Pingback: DRS issue to blame for Binder’s race result | GP2 Extra·

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s