Palmer aiming for 2016 race seat with Lotus

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Jolyon Palmer is aiming for a race seat with the Lotus F1 Team in 2016 after the team has assured the Briton that there may be an opportunity for him.

The 2014 GP2 Champion is currently working with Lotus as a Third Driver and has participated in numerous FP1 sessions for the team throughout this season.

“I don’t want to be a test driver again next year, my aim is still to be racing with Lotus and that is why I am here for the year to be racing,” Palmer told Sky Sports F1.

“I have been told there could be an opportunity so I just have to try my best and show the team why they should take me.

“There is not much more to say, I am getting some time in the car, so at least I am getting an opportunity and as far I am aware there could be a chance so I am just trying to grab it with both hands.”

Palmer has been matching 2010 GP2 Series Champion Pastor Maldonado’s lap times in the FP1 sessions he has taken part in for Lotus and is working close with 2011 title winner Romain Grosjean as well.

What do you think? Let us know

