Rowland targeting further GP2 races

2015 GP2 Series Round 5 - Silverstone, Northamptonshire, England. Thursday 2 July 2015. Oliver Rowland (GBR, MP Motorsport)  Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service. ref: Digital Image _SBL8839

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Briton Oliver Rowland is eyeing more races in the GP2 Series this season after an impressive debut with MP Motorsport last weekend.

Rowland made his debut with the MP team at his home circuit after Sergio Canamasas split with the team which created a vacant seat alongside Daniël de Jong.

Rowland’s priority for 2015 remains the Formula Renault 3.5 championship – which he leads – but because dates don’t clash, there are opportunities for the Racing Steps Foundation backed driver to race in GP2 as well.

“I’m going to concentrate on next weekend in Formula Renault but I’ve got a big gap after that,” Rowland told AUTOSPORT.

“I can’t help but feel that maybe I’ll be back for Budapest because I’ve been there and it fits with my schedule.

“I’d love to be there but it’s not my decision, it’s with the Racing Steps Foundation.

“It’d be nice because now I know the car and I can start from where the others start.

“In fact I would have a bit of an advantage because I raced there two weeks ago.”

Rowland’s results in the races at Silverstone were tenth and seventh.

One response to “Rowland targeting further GP2 races

  1. Pingback: Latifi to make GP2 return with MP Motorsport | GP2 Extra·

What do you think? Let us know

