Sirotkin storms to maiden victory

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Rapax driver Sergey Sirotkin has bagged his first ever race victory in the GP2 Series.

The Russian driver didn’t get the best of starts when the race began; he lost first place to a fast starting Richie Stanaway who started in third place.

Points leader Stoffel Vandoorne also lost out at the start when his team mate Nobuharu Matsushita stormed to third place from P7. The Japanese driver retired just seven laps into the race with a mechanical issue, however.

The safety car was deployed on the opening lap when Artem Markelov made contact with Nathanaël Berthon at Brooklands and the Frenchman was stranded on track. The RUSSIAN TIME driver was subsequently handed a ten second penalty for causing a collision and later a ten second stop/go penalty for speeding under the safety car.

When the pit stop window opened on lap six, Brits Nick Yelloly and Jordan King pitted and would come into play later in the race.

Mitch Evans’ bad luck continued when he was forced to retire from twelfth place when his headrest flew out of the car on the Hangar Straight.

Juts before he pitted, Alexander Rossi passed Stoffel Vandoorne around the outside of Brooklands and then one lap later he used the same move against second place driver Richie Stanaway. Things would get worse for the New Zealander after his pit stop when a rear left suspension failure caused a retirement.

Vandoorne pitted with eight laps to go but came out behind early stoppers Yelloly and King. He made easy work of Yelloly and soon got past King after a couple of tries.

Sergey Sirotkin cruised to an effortless maiden win ahead of Alexander Rossi after 29 laps of racing. Stoffel Vandoorne finished in third place which is relatively poor for the Belgian after his Feature Race form this season.

Drama occurred at the last corner when Arthur Pic got desperate behind Jordan King and pushed the Briton into a spin and ultimately a retirement just metres from the finish line. Pic crossed the line in sixth but the incident is under investigation.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 S. Sirotkin Rapax 53:13.597
2 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 5.989
3 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 13.566
4 P. Gasly DAMS 16.729
5 A. Lynn DAMS 20.546
6 A. Pic Campos Racing 22.922
7 R. Marciello Trident 23.550
8 N. Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 23.879
9 O. Rowland MP Motorsport 25.161
10 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 25.437
11 J. Leal Carlin 28.753
12 D. De Jong MP Motorsport 30.373
13 R. Visoiu Rapax 36.922
14 J. Cecotto Carlin 37.436
15 S. Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 44.277
16 J. Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 49.850
17 R. Binder Trident 53.663
18 N. Nato Arden International 57.444
19 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 60.867
20 A. Negrão Arden International 64.399
21 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 86.692
22 J. King Racing Engineering DNF
23 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix DNF
25 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix DNF
26 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus DNF

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s