Sirotkin takes surprise first pole position

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Sergey Sirotkin will start from the front of the field in a Feature Race for the first time tomorrow after bagging a surprise pole position at Silverstone.

Championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne was struggling with oversteer on the entry to high-speed corners but still managed to hustle his ART car to the top of the time sheets early on. The Belgian set a time of 1:40.386 and soon bettered his own time by two tenths of a second.

Sirotkin – who sparked into life in Austria two weeks ago – got close to Vandoorne’s time after the first round of flyers but missed out by just 0.090 seconds.

Practice session leader Rio Haryanto was stranded in the pit lane for half of the session with technical problems but managed to get onto the track with 15 minutes to go.

Jon Lancaster failed to set a lap time after an engine change between practice and qualifying overran. The Briton will start from the pit lane in tomorrow’s Feature Race.

Alexander Rossi was on a fast lap and looked to be able to challenge for the top thee but a spin by Daniël de Jong at Stowe brought out the yellow flags which hampered the American’s efforts.

The final fast laps brought about very few changes to the order. Vandoorne pushed too much in an attempt to extend his gap over Sirotkin but made a mistake on the entry to the final corner complex on the track and couldn’t improve.

Sirotkin stunned Vandoorne by setting a 1:39.949 in the closing seconds of the session and took pole position by 0.185 seconds.

Monaco Sprint Race victor Richie Stanaway jumped up to third place ahead of Rossi – who eventually got a clear lap – and Arthur Pic.

Pierre Gasly, Nobuharu Matsushita, Raffaele Marciello, Oliver Rowland – on his debut in the Series – and Julián Leal completed the top ten.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 S. Sirotkin Rapax 1:39.949
2 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 0.185
3 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 0.429
4 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 0.470
5 A. Pic Campos Racing 0.485
6 P. Gasly DAMS 0.549
7 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 0.571
8 R. Marciello Trident 0.584
9 O. Rowland MP Motorsport 0.588
10 J. Leal Carlin 0.598
11 N. Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 0.748
12 A. Lynn DAMS 0.759
13 J. King Racing Engineering 0.816
14 S. Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 0.840
15 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 0.844
16 A. Negrão Arden International 1.090
17 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1.097
18 J. Cecotto Carlin 1.115
19 R. Visoiu Rapax 1.169
20 N. Nato Arden International 1.303
21 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1.326
22 D. De Jong MP Motorsport 1.593
23 R. Binder Trident 1.813
24 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1.853
25 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1.856
26 J. Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport NO TIME SET

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s