Vandoorne breaks records with Spielberg pole

Image credit – GP2 Media sERVICE

Stoffel Vandoorne has become the all time GP2 pole position leader with his seventh in a row.

Vandoorne has had every single pole position in GP2 since Spa at the end of August last year and with pole in Spielberg today, the Belgian has moved ahead of Giorgio Pantano and Nelson Piquet to hold the record of pole positions himself with seven.

Practice pace setter Sergey Sirotkin continued on from where he left off in the early stages of Qualifying by setting the early pace of a 1:15.296 but Belgian bullet Vandoorne took P1 from the Russian soon after. The pair swapped lap times until Sirotkin matched Vandoorne’s time to the thousandth of a second.

At the halfway point the top 19 drivers were separated by less than one second.

The final ten minutes saw a flurry of on-track action with drivers trying to claim pole position for themselves.

Sirotkin moved ahead of Vandoorne by a couple of tenths but the Belgian came back to take provisional pole.

Pierre Gasly made his first mark on the weekend by setting a time worthy of third on the Feature Race grid.

Nat Berthon and Arthur Pic came together on the track on the exit of turn seven. Berthon was looking to squeeze through on the inside of his compatriot Pic but instead just shredded his front wing off.

At the fall of the checquered flag it was Stoffel Vandoorne who took his seventh straight pole position ahead of his team mate Nobuharu Matsushita.

Zoel Amberg was unfit to take part while Sergio Canamasas didn’t turn up to the event.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:14.174
2 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 0.089
3 P. Gasly DAMS 0.126
4 S. Sirotkin Rapax 0.260
5 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 0.307
6 R. Marciello Trident 0.309
7 N. Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 0.364
8 J. King Racing Engineering 0.400
9 A. Pic Campos Racing 0.476
10 A. Lynn DAMS 0.644
11 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 0.687
12 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 0.707
13 J. Leal Carlin 0.719
14 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 0.748
15 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 0.804
16 N. Nato Arden International 0.822
17 R. Binder Trident 0.856
18 D. De Jong MP Motorsport 1.033
19 R. Visoiu Rapax 1.222
20 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1.260
21 A. Negrão Arden International 1.363
22 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1.576
23 M. Sørensen Carlin 1.679
24 S. Trummer Hilmer Motorsport 1.985
25 Z. Amberg Daiko Team Lazarus NO TIME SET

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s