Sirotkin ends Austria Practice fastest

Sergey Sirotkin

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Sergey Sirotkin has ended Practice at the Red Bull Ring as the fastest of the 25 running drivers.

The field only comprises 25 drivers this weekend as Sergio Canamasas has had a less than amicable disagreement with his MP Motorsport team which has led to the Spaniard leaving with immediate effect.

Sirotkin was one of the fastest drivers early on in the 45 minute session when the Russian set his first lap but championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne had something better to offer with a time of 1:16.63.

The penultimate corner at the Red Bull Ring was causing problems for drivers up and down the field. Artem Markelov, Sergey Sirotkin, Raffaele Marciello, Arthur Pic and Jordan King were all caught out at the tight right hander and had to use the lengthy runoff.

Jordan King had further issues at the final corner when his Racing Engineering was so unsettled by the bumps that he spun 180 degrees.

Alexander Rossi made a slow start to the session and only managed to set laps after the first 20 minutes had elapsed. The American eventually set 16 timed laps and ended the session in fourth place with a time of 1:15.272.

Pierre Gasly’s came to a halt after turn six which sparked a small red flag period. Just seven minutes remained on the clock after the stoppage and very few improvements were made. Sergey Sirotkin’s time of 1:14.880 set before the red flag remained the benchmark time until the fall of the checquered flag and the Russian ended in P1.

Le Mans podium finisher Mitch Evans finished Practice in P2 with Stoffel Vandoorne in P3.

Alexander Rossi was fourth in the standings while Alex Lynn rounded out the top five.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 S. Sirotkin Rapax 1:14.880
2 M. Evans RUSSIAN TIME 0.321
3 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 0.343
4 A. Rossi Racing Engineering 0.392
5 A. Lynn DAMS 0.399
6 R. Marciello Trident 0.527
7 P. Gasly DAMS 0.623
8 R. Haryanto Campos Racing 0.688
9 A. Pic Campos Racing 0.689
10 N. Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 0.798
11 J. King Racing Engineering 0.812
12 R. Stanaway Status Grand Prix 0.821
13 R. Binder Trident 0.830
14 A. Negrão Arden International 0.856
15 D. De Jong MP Motorsport 0.937
16 R. Visoiu Rapax 1.091
17 M. Sørensen Carlin 1.189
18 N. Nato Arden International 1.193
19 N. Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1.219
20 J. Leal Carlin 1.356
21 Z. Amberg Daiko Team Lazarus 1.463
22 M. Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1.542
23 N. Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1.702
24 A. Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1.821
25 S. Trummer Hilmer Motorsport 1.998

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s