Nobuharu Matsushita to make GP2 debut with ART

Nobuharu Matsushita

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

Honda and McLaren’s affiliation with ART Grand Prix continues for a second year as Nobuharu Matsushita joins the Series with the French team.

The 21-year-old Japanese driver drove a GP2 car for the first time at the post-season tests at the end of November last year and was knocking on the door of the top ten on the second day.

Matsushita claimed the 2014 Japanese F3 Championship having won six of the 15 races across the season.

Takuya Izawa was supported by Honda in GP2 last year and finished on he podium with ART in the Hungary Feature Race but has now moved back to Japan to contest the 2015 Super Formula season.

Nobuharu Matsushita: “First of all, I would like to thank ART Grand Prix for giving me the opportunity to race in GP2. I am honored to be a part of ART, which is one of the most prestigious teams in young drivers’ promotion.

“The GP2 Series gives me the chance to race alongside great rivals, following the Formula 1 calendar all around the world. This is a big challenge for myself but I am determined to do my best as GP2 is the best way to race in F1, which is my dream since my childhood.

“I would like to express my thankfulness to Honda who supports my challenge, my fans, friends and family.”

ART Grand Prix Team Manager Sébastien Philippe: “Nobuharu has a lot of experience in motorsport and his talent is a certainty just from reading his resume, including that he is the reigning Japanese F3 champion. He has no European culture, but he quickly integrated himself into the team at the Abu Dhabi tests. To finish in the top ten on his first day in GP2 was a remarkable performance. Nobuharu will have many new things to discover and the start of the season will be marked by a learning phase for him, but ART Grand Prix has full confidence in his qualities and in the team’s experience to help Nobuharu integrate very quickly into the discipline. With Stoffel Vandoorne by his side, he also has the ideal teammate.”

What do you think? Let us know

