Vandoorne starts Hungary weekend fastest in Practice

Image credit - GP2 Media Service

Image credit – GP2 Media Service

GP2 was greeted by glorious sunny skies at the Hunagaroring for Practice and the track temperature of 51°C proved it.

Simon Trummer, Johnny Cecotto and last year’s pole sitter in Hungary Tom Dillmann were the first drivers out onto the track but it was Sergio Canamasas who set the early pace. His lap time of 1:30.254 remained unbeaten for the first ten or so minutes of the session. Artem Markelov was the last driver to complete a flying lap and he was 1.8 seconds off Canamasas’ pace.

Jolyon Palmer found extra pace in his second attempt at a lap but he was soon eclipsed by a fast Felipe Nasr with a time of 1:29.540. Having just set the session fastest time, Nasr came into the pit lane far too fast and almost crashed into his team mate Julián Leal.

Johnny Cecotto and Jolyon Palmer came to blows further into the session. Palmer stayed off the racing line to let Cecotto through but the Venezuelan driver locked up into turn three and hit the DAMS driver. Both drivers got back to the pits after the strange incident.

Conor Daly’s day didn’t start off very well when he was forced to stop his Venezuela GP Lazarus car in the middle sector of the lap, severely curtailing his running time in Practice.

In the closing minutes of the session, René Binder improved his time by a few tenths of a second which meant every driver in GP2 Practice was faster than the slowest driver in F1 Practice.

At the close of the session Stoffel Vandoorne’s time of 1:29.479 was unbeaten and the Belgian driver topped Practice.

Position Driver Team Gap
1 S. Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:29.479
2 F. Nasr Carlin 0.061
3 S. Richelmi DAMS 0.359
4 J. Palmer DAMS 0.398
5 M. Evans RT RUSSIAN TIME 0.471
6 J. Cecotto Trident 0.510
7 K. Sato Campos Racing 0.560
8 A. Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 0.567
9 S. Trummer Rapax 0.619
10 D. De Jong MP Motorsport 0.685
11 A. Pic Campos Racing 0.765
12 S. Canamasas Trident 0.775
13 T. Dillmann EQ8 Caterham Racing 0.803
14 A. Negrão Arden International 0.925
15 M. Sørensen MP Motorsport 0.936
16 R. Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 0.959
17 C. Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 0.974
18 N. Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 1.028
19 S. Coletti Racing Engineering 1.033
20 R. Marciello Racing Engineering 1.212
21 D. Abt Hilmer Motorsport 1.239
22 J. Leal Carlin 1.328
23 R. Binder Arden International 1.526
24 J. Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 1.699
25 T. Izawa ART Grand Prix 1.703
26 A. Markelov RT RUSSIAN TIME 1.716

What do you think? Let us know

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s